Peter Hancock 60th Celebration

19th December 2011.
McCance Lecture Room 2, McCance Building, Richmond Street, Glasgow G1.

We are having a day of talks to celebrate Peter Hancock's 60th Birthday.


The following people have generously volunteered to give talks

Time Speaker Title
9:30-10:10 Peter Dybjer Some thoughts on Martin-Löf's meaning explanations
10:10-10:50 Thorsten Altenkirch What is the problem with Induction-Recursion?
10:50-11:20 Coffee
11:20-12:00 Alex Simpson On the law of large numbers (such as 60)
12:00-12:40 Michael Rathjen Universes
12:40-14:30 Lunch
14:30-15:10 Bengt Nordstrom Garden Games and Kitchen Games
15:10-15:50 James Chapman Relative Monads and Lambda Calculus
15:50-16:20 Coffee
16:20-17:00 Dirk Pattinson Always the Same Pattern: A Coinductive Analysis of the µ-calculus
17:00-17:40 Wouter Swierstra Hank's first computer program

Venue and Accommodation

The lectures will take place in McCance Lecture Room 2 which is in the McCance building on Richmond Street. The building is easy to to see. There is a big sign saying McCance building over the entrance and there are stairs up to the doors. Once you enter the building you will need to go up one flight of stairs and then you will see the doors with McCance Lecture 1,2,3 signposted.

The McCance building is part of the University of Strathclyde, in the centre of Glasgow. The map below shows the general area. Click the “+” for a closer look.

View Larger Map

A convenient place to stay is the Glasgow City Centre Premier Inn, just across the road from Strathclyde University.


The current confirmed list of attendees from outside the MSP group is as follows:

  • Bengt Nordstrom, Chalmers University of Technology
  • Peter Dybjer, Chalmers University of Technology
  • Dirk Pattinson, Imperial College
  • Alex Simpson, University of Edinburgh
  • Pierre Hyvernat, Université de Savoie
  • Nicholas Oury, University of Edinburgh
  • James Chapman, Institute of Cybernetics
  • Thorsten Altenkirch, University of Nottingham
  • Benedict Kavanagh, University of Edinburgh
  • Gordon Plotkin, University of Edinburgh
  • James McKinna
  • Michael Rathjen, University of Leeds
  • Wouter Swierstra, Radboud Universiteit Nijmegen
  • Peter Morris, University of Nottingham
  • Roy Dyckhoff, University of St. Andrews